Skip to content

Chartered Member (MRICS)

Chartered Member (MRICS)

Become qualified as a Chartered Member (MRICS) if you have a bachelor’s degree, approved professional qualification or 10 years of relevant experience.

You can enrol at any time in your career, but you must meet one of our eligibility requirements before applying for assessment:

  • Relevant experience and an RICS-accredited degree
  • 5 years of relevant experience and any bachelor’s degree
  • 10 years of relevant experience operating at an advanced level by seniority, specialisation, or in academia.

The most common way of qualifying as a Chartered Member is through the Assessment of Professional Competence (APC), but you can also qualify as a senior professional, industry specialist, or academic. 

Assessment of Professional Competence

The Assessment of Professional Competence (APC) can be completed with or without structured training depending on your experience.

  • Structured training – develop your skills over 12 or 24 months of structured training before assessment.
  • Preliminary review – with 5 years of experience, you can go to final assessment following a review of your submissions.

Find out about the APC

Senior professionals, specialists and academics

If your career has progressed based on seniority, specialisation or through academia, we have assessment routes to match your experience.

  • Senior professional – you have experience as a leader and manager.
  • Specialist – you have enhanced skills as a recognised authority.
  • Academic – you are teaching or researching at a university.

Find out about these assessments