Skip to content

Press release

10 SEP 2021

RICS Awards 2021: New Zealand winners

RICS Awards, New Zealand winners shaping the future built and natural environment

The Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors has today announced fourteen teams that are being celebrated for their contribution to shaping the future of New Zealand.

The sectors leading teams and companies entered the annual competition – which recognise industry leading achievements and demonstrate the upholding of the highest standards of professionalism and ethics across the built and natural environments – to compete for one of the fourteen prestigious titles in this year’s ceremony.

This year’s entrants have been responsible for some of the biggest projects New Zealand has seen to date – including bringing investment into the commercial sector, essential infrastructure and leading the fight against climate change.

After careful consideration by a team of expert judges, the winners are:

  • Building Consultancy Team of the Year – Babbage Consultants Limited
  • Geomatics and Land Surveying Team of the Year – Envivo Limited
  • Project Management Team of the Year – AECOM Pacifica PM Team
  • Property/Facilities Management Team of the Year – Auckland Airport
  • Quantity Surveying Team of the Year – AECOM Christchurch QS Team
  • Real Estate Advisory Team of the Year – RCP
  • Real Estate Agency Team of the Year – CBRE
  • Research Team of the Year – School of Architecture and Design, Victoria University and Massey University
  • Valuation Team of the Year – Beca
  • Innovation Award – KiwiRail, Downer, Aurecon
  • Sustainability Project of the Year – Auckland Airport
  • Young Achiever of the Year – Phoebe Hewitson – JLL
  • Woman of the Built Environment Award – Simone Sharp – AECOM
  • Lifetime Achievement Award – Peter Harris FRICS

There were also a number of highly commended individuals and teams who judges felt deserved special recognition. These are:

  • Research Team of the Year – University of Auckland Business School – Department of Property
  • Innovation Award – AE Smith and Fox and Associates Limited
  • Woman of the Built Environment Award – Anna McCrossan – Consentium, a division of Kāinga Ora - Homes and Communities, Gail Smits – Quotable Value and Natasha Cockerell – Prendos NZ Ltd - Respond Architects

Chris Nicholl, RICS Market Director: “I am encouraged to see the increasing number of entries to the awards year on year and congratulate all our winners. Each of whom have overcome challenges and are setting the benchmark in contributing to resilient and successful communities and economies. This recognition is not only well deserved but is testament to the difference RICS professionals are making across New Zealand.”  

Mark Synnott, Chief Executive Officer, New Zealand, Colliers, said: “We’re delighted to be a key sponsor of the RICS Awards this year, and the opportunity to recognise and celebrate excellence in the real estate industry. While we currently face disruption from Covid-19, the calibre, effort and success of the nominees are a reflection of how much the industry is in good shape and we look forward to a strong recovery.”


Notes for editors:

The RICS Awards 2021, New Zealand are sponsored by:

Headline Partner: Colliers; Corporate Partner: Glodon; Innovation Category Sponsor: Babbage; Supporting Partners: AECOM; JLL; Massey University and WBEF; Media Partner: OneRoof..

Images of the winning teams and projects can be accessed through the following link: Access will cease to exist on Wednesday 6 October 2021. After this date, please contact Alex Booth for images.

About RICS

We are RICS. Everything we do is designed to effect positive change in the built and natural environments. Through our respected global standards, leading professional progression and our trusted data and insight, we promote and enforce the highest professional standards in the development and management of land, real estate, construction and infrastructure.

Our work with others provides a foundation for confident markets, pioneers better places to live and work and is a force for positive social impact.

For more information:

John Bayliss

Alexandra Booth

Rebecca Hunt

About the winners

Learn more about the NZ winners for 2021.

Download now